The 9th Annual WV Hall Of Fame Shoot Is In The Books

A group from the eastern panhandle came to honor Jennifer Everett one of three Hall Of Fame Inductees

Seventy Six shooters from four states shot at 26,000 targets to compete in this years’ 9th Annual WVATA Hall Of Fame Shoot held at Marshall County Hunting & Fishing Club during the Memorial Day Weekend. Fourteen former and three new inductees were in attendance. The weather was beautiful, the targets perfect and the competition was fierce.

2014 WV Hall Of Fame Inductees

Holly, Lilly and Steve, Lilly was impressed with Dads honor.

The events were named for this years’ WV Hall Of Fame inductees, Jennifer Everett, Steve Sprout and Gary Holmes. During Saturday's Single Event, Robert Harden fired the lone 200 straight besting the field by two targets to claim the Jennifer Everett Singles Championship, Scott Ross’s 198 topped Class A. Both Scott and Robert were inducted in the WVHOF last year. WV ATA Delegate Nicholas Harden took B Class honors with a 194, 2001 HOF inductee Sandy Spencer fired a 191 for Class C laurels. This year was Hampshire County’s Robert Judy’s first appearance at the WV Hall Of Fame shoot. He fired a 183 for D Class honors. Category shooters Morgan Lough and 1989 Hall of Famer Darrell Dowler knotted at 195 for Veteran with Lough over Dowler in the ensuing shootoff. Ken Shockey was the high Sr. Veteran. Newly inducted Hall Of Fame member Jennifer Everett was High Lady and Grant Williams cracked off a 189 for the JR/SubJr trophy.  A delicious meal was provided by MCH&F Club, courtesy of the WVATA, and was enjoyed by all the shooters. During the break between hundreds, plaques, donated by Mark Isner, were presented to the inductees by WVATA President Chuck Jackson.


            Sub Jr Grant Williams                                Jr Robert Judy

Darrel Murray (front) getting some rest before the Preliminary Handicap, Darrell Dowler and Steve Sprout discuss his strategy.

  In the Preliminary Handicap 1994 HOF inductee Darrel Murray shot an event high 96 to take the 25 to 27 yard honors; Ken Shockey took 22 to 24 yard with a 94 and after a flip between James Marcum and Leon Lowther, both who shot 94’s and had left the grounds, Marcum won the flip for 18 to 21yard.

 It apparently Worked !!    Ken was excited with winning                     James Marcum

                                                his second belt buckle.

Richard Granatir topped all shooters in the Steve Sprout Doubles Championship breaking all but two targets for the Championship, Curt Paul and last years HOF inductee Scott Ross flipped for A Class with Scotty prevailing. Adam Cline was B Class Champion. C Class was decided by a shoot off between Jerry Stefkovich and Bill Karwatske with Jerry declaring the victory.

Charlie Brown       Dean Kemp           Madison                             Darin          and  Montgomery Kelly

It was nice to see new shooting family The Kelly's (above) Dean appears to be imparting some shooting knowledge although Charlie and Montgomery aren't buying it. Darin was looking for a hobby he could enjoy with his children, we're glad they picked trapshooting.

     Sunday’s Gary Holmes Handicap Championship was won by DJ Wilson with a 97. Adam Cline and Mark Johnson shot off for the 22 to 24 yard trophy after both shot 96’s with Adam winning the shoot off. Ron Smith also broke 96 for 25 – 27 yard honors. S A Thompson broke one less a 95 for the 18 to 21 yard buckle. Tom Urquhart was the high Senior Veteran, a flip between Curt Paul and 2008 HOF member and former association treasurer David Kemp for the Veteran buckle with Curt coming out on top. 2001 inductee Sandy Spencer was the top Lady. Robert Judy won his second buckle for high Junior. The Emerson Lilley Memorial Trophy was won by Darrel Murray for high combined score in events 1,2 and 4 donated by Larry and Kenny Lilley in memory of their father, 2001 HOF inductee Emerson Lilley.  HAA went to Robert Harden who posted a 385.

    A total of $775.00 Added Money was given away $300.00 of which was provided courtesy of Marshall County Hunting & Fishing Club.   

The WVATA would like to recognize Marshall County Hunting & Fishing Club for their hard work, immaculate grounds and smooth operation of the shoot. Larry Lilley and his crew did a fantastic job, a big thanks to the officers of the WVATA for working the classification, squadding and cashiering. A special thanks to Mary Ellen Dague for her all her help and Bruce Haislip for setting up the computers for the shoot we couldn’t have done it without you !!!

2012 Inductee Ken Connett and 2003 Inductee John Elliott before the start of handicap.

             Scott Ross                                    Nick Harden                                          Sandy Spencer

             Morgan Lough                                       Rich Granatir                                  Adam Cline

            Jerry Stefkovich                                Ron Smith                                          D J Wilson